Conditions and Diseases we treat

Blood & Marrow Transplant

Our Blood and Marrow Transplantation (BMT) Program consists of a multidisciplinary team dedicated to the therapeutic use of bone marrow, peripheral blood, cord blood and cellular therapy in the treatment of children, adolescents and young adults with malignant, non-malignant, and serious blood-related disorders.

 

DISEASES:

The Blood and Marrow Transplantation Program focuses on many diseases including:

Malignant Diseases:

 

Non-Malignant Diseases:

 

 

KEY CONTACTS

Director:
Mitchell S. Cairo, MD
Mitchell_cairo@nymc.edu
(914) 594-2150

Transplant Nurse Coordinator:
Barbara Ehrenreich, RN, MSN, CPNP
Barbara.Ehrenreich@wmchealth.org
(914) 594 2154

Meghan Sturhan, RN, MSN, CPNP-AC, CPHON
Meghan.Sturhan@wmchealth.org
(914) 594-2162

Nurse Educator:
Karen Wolownik, RN, MSN, CPNP
karen.wolownik@wmchealth.org
(914) 594-2155

Connie Leonick, RN, MSN, CPNP
Connie.Leonick@wmchealth.org
(914) 594-2156

Transplant Nurse Practitioner:
Anne Panarella, RN, MS, CPNP
Anne_Panarella@nymc.edu
(914) 909-5362

Meet

Our Transplant Team

Unique Features:

  • FACT Accredited
  • COG Accredited
  • NMDP Accredited
  • Pediatric Blood and Marrow Transplantation Consortium (PBMTC) member
  • Cellular and Tissue Engineering Laboratory “GMP Quality”
  • Cord Blood Diseases & Regenerative Therapy Program
  • Cord Blood Transplantation Program
  • Unrelated Adult Donor Stem Cell Program
  • Haploidentical Stem Cell Program
  • T-cell Depletion and Stem Cell Selection Program
  • High-Risk Leukemia Consortium (Lead Institution)
  • Lymphoma Cell Therapy Consortium (Lead Institution)
  • Sickle Cell Transplantation Consortium (Lead Institution)
  • Sarcoma Cell Therapy Consortium (Lead Institution)
  • Ten HEPA Filtered and Positive Pressure Inpatient Rooms
  • Personalized and customized blood, marrow and cellular therapies
  • Multidisciplinary Programs
  • Long-Term Survivors Program

 

 

Research and Education Highlights:

  • ACGME Accredited Pediatric Hematology, Oncology, and Stem Cell Transplantation Fellowship Program
  • Student, Resident and other Allied Health Professions elective/selectives
  • Tumor Immunology
  • Transplantation Immunology
  • Adoptive Targeted Cellular Therapy
  • Stem Cell Biology, Regenerative, and Hematopoiesis